Tandoori Chicken Roast

Standard

Tandoori Chicken Roast Recipe

Time to Prepare: 1hr 40min

Serving Size: 5 people

 Tandoori Chicken Roast

Ingredients

  • Full Skinless Washed Chicken
  • Tandoori Masala (If your Tandoori Masala does not have a red coloring then I would add 1 tbsp. of Paprika for the color.  The Rajah brand has a nice coloring and can be found in your ethnic Food Stores.)
  • 2 tbsp Garlic Paste
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp Jeera powder (cumin powder)
  • Half Stick of Butter (cut up in thin slices)
  • 2 tbsp of Olive Oil

Directions

  • Pre-heat oven to 400 degree temperature
  • In a mixing bowl mix all ingredients together except for butter and oil.
  • Place foil on a baking tray and grease it with the olive oil.
  • Place chicken on the tray and use a fork or a thin sharp knife and gash the Chicken several times all around so that the spices can seep in.
  • Rub the spice mix on the chicken and make sure you cover the whole chicken with the spices.
  • Take the thin slices of butter and place them on and around the chicken.  Some of the pieces should be inserted in the main cavity.
  • Cover the chicken with foil and bake for 40 minutes covered.
  • After 40 minutes flip the chicken to the other side and bake it for another hour uncovered.
  • After 1 hr and 40 minutes your chicken should be ready to serve.
  • For additional flavor pour any remaining drippings over the chicken.

*** I usually cut the chicken in pieces and serve it with salad and/or pasta.

*** I would recommend that you marinate the chicken overnight before baking.

*** If you prefer not to use butter then I would substitute it with olive oil.  I would drizzle about 5 tbsp. over the chicken.

About Sunita Bagai

I was born in Malawi Africa, grew up there and moved to the United States for my continuing education. I got my BA and Masters from Golden Gate University, in SF. I got married and moved to Virginia. I've been married 14 years and I have two beautiful daughters who make my life complete. I love to cook and now that both my girls are in school full time, and with my husband's enthusiastic support, I'm following my passion and am offering cooking classes to share my cooking ideas with the world.

Leave a Reply

