Coconut Corn

Standard

Coconut Corn

Coconut Corn

Time to Prepare: 25 minutes

Serving Size: 6 people

 Ingredients:

  • 1 Bag of Frozen Loose Sweet Corn (16 oz)
  • 2 tablespoon of Mustard Seeds (Rye Seeds)
  • 3 green chilies finely chopped (add more if you like it very spicy)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ginger paste
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon turmeric powder
  • ¼  teaspoon red chili powder
  • ½ cup coconut milk or cream.  (You can buy coconut milk or cream in cans)
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil

Directions:

  • Heat the oil in a non stick pan and then add mustard seeds.  When you notice that the mustard seeds  are changing color then add the ginger and chilies and stir fry for a minute.
  • Add the corn and mix nicely with the mustard seeds and ginger.  Cover and let it cook on low/medium heat for 5 minutes.
  • Add the salt, turmeric, and coconut milk and mix all ingredients nicely.
  • Leave on low and let the corn cook for another 15 minutes.
  • The consistency should be a light coating of coconut cream/milk on the corn not a type of curry style.
  • Serve the corn in a bowl and sprinkle a little bit of red chili powder on it for some spice and decoration.

About Sunita Bagai

I was born in Malawi Africa, grew up there and moved to the United States for my continuing education. I got my BA and Masters from Golden Gate University, in SF. I got married and moved to Virginia. I've been married 14 years and I have two beautiful daughters who make my life complete. I love to cook and now that both my girls are in school full time, and with my husband's enthusiastic support, I'm following my passion and am offering cooking classes to share my cooking ideas with the world.

Leave a Reply

