Shimla Mirch & Paneer (Bellpeppers & Indian Cheese)

Standard

Shimla Mirch & Paneer

Simla Mirch & Paneer ( Bellpeppers & Indian Cheese)

Time to Cook: 30minutes

Serving Size: 4 people

Ingredients

  • 3 Green Bell peppers cut up in chunks. Remove the inside part and slice them up in small pieces.
  • 1 Big Onion finely sliced.
  • 11/2  Big tomato chopped up in small chunks.
  • 1 slab of Nanak Paneer 14oz(Indian Cheese) or Home Made Paneer. The paneer should be cut up in small squares.
  • 1 tsp. crushed garlic
  • 2 green chilies finely chopped (if desired for extra spice)
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. red chili powder
  • ¼ tsp. black pepper
  • 2 tsp. geera (cumin)powder
  • 2 tsp. dhaina (dried coriander) powder
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika powder.
  • 4 tablespoons Olive Oil

Directions

  • Heat the oil in a big wide non stick pan . When oil is hot add onions. Leave the burner on high as you do the cooking.
  • Brown the onions to light brown color and then add garlic and then fry for a 1 minute or two. Till garlic is nicely blended with the onions.
  • Add the tomatoes and stir for a minute and then cover.  By covering the pot the tomatoes will steam and mush up quicker. Turn the burner on medium high.  After 4 minutes remove lid and stir.  Onions and tomatoes should be nicely blended.
  • Add the chopped up bell peppers and fry for a couple of minutes.
  • Add the paneer and all the spices.
  • After adding the spices stir the food so that everything is nicely mixed up and cover it for 5 minutes.  Again the steam helps cook the food faster.   At this stage I would turn the burner to medium low.  If you see that the food is sticking to  the bottom of the pan, add 3 tbsp of hot water and stir it gently and then cover the dish and also turn the burner to its lowest mark.
  • After 5 minutes remove the lid and see if the peppers have soften slightly if not keep covered till peppers are soft.  Once that happens uncover the pot and cook on medium/high flame.  This will help dry up any liquid from the steam.
  • Transfer the food in a serving dish and garnish with fresh coriander and serve.

Tips

  • For healthy and less fattening dish, I cook the paneer as is, however when I have a party I like to fry my paneer in a shallow frying pan till it’s slightly golden brown and then I cook this dish.
  • Uncooked Paneer can break easily so stir gently and lift from the bottom and stir.
  • You can use different color peppers in this dish, but keep in mind the yellow, red and orange are sweeter so it make look pretty but it may also taste slightly sweeter.  Therefore I prefer to use just green peppers.
  • Try your food while cooking; if you feel that it lacks salt or chili  feel free to add more according to taste.
  • When I make this dish I add all the spices except the chilies and when it’s cooked I remove some for my kids and then add the chilies so that the rest can have it very spicy.  You don’t need to make separate dishes.
  • If you  notice that the dish is to dry while cooking, feel free to add 3  tablespoons of tomato paste. You  can also use Ragu Traditional Sauce or Ragu Onion, Garlic Sauce for this.

About Sunita Bagai

I was born in Malawi Africa, grew up there and moved to the United States for my continuing education. I got my BA and Masters from Golden Gate University, in SF. I got married and moved to Virginia. I've been married 14 years and I have two beautiful daughters who make my life complete. I love to cook and now that both my girls are in school full time, and with my husband's enthusiastic support, I'm following my passion and am offering cooking classes to share my cooking ideas with the world.

Leave a Reply

