ICE GOLA! AKA SHAVED ICE

Standard

I recently made at trip to India and I really wanted my kids to have the shaved ice over there which for your information is called Gola, but I did not want the kids to have local water so I promised them that I would make them some homemade Golas when we get back home.  Therefore this past weekend we had some fun making Golas.

Gola/Shaved Ice

 

ICE GOLA

Ingredients:

  • Crushed Ice
  • Syrups of Your Choice

Directions:

  • Shave Ice in a Shave Ice Machine or Snow Cone Machine.
  • Place Ice in a mold and place a popsicle stick in the center and freeze for 10/15 minutes.  You don’t want to freeze the ice to much because you want the ice to be soft and breakable when you eat it.  The reason to freeze the ice for a few minutes is so that it molds in the shape you want and also for the stick to stick in the ice.
  • Remove from mold and pour syrup over ice and enjoy.  You may need to pour some warm water over the mold so that the ice comes out easily.  However be very quick so that the ice does not melt completely.

About Sunita Bagai

I was born in Malawi Africa, grew up there and moved to the United States for my continuing education. I got my BA and Masters from Golden Gate University, in SF. I got married and moved to Virginia. I've been married 14 years and I have two beautiful daughters who make my life complete. I love to cook and now that both my girls are in school full time, and with my husband's enthusiastic support, I'm following my passion and am offering cooking classes to share my cooking ideas with the world.

Leave a Reply

